Glorious Tainan, Taiwan – in Pictures and Video

Proudly written without Artificial Intelligence! On my first trip to Taiwan back in 2018, we only spent three days in Taipei. We had wanted to visit the southern part, but there was a typhoon. Finally I returned and it was recommended that I visit Tainan. Tainan is the former capital of Taiwan and is famous for its food. I absolutely loved this city for its authentic culture, old buildings and, yes, fabulous food, vegetarian and vegan included.

Tainan is a bustling and exciting city in the South of Taiwan. The weather is much warmer. I had no idea that there was an election in Taiwan when I booked my ticket. Lots of political ads were everywhere. This one for the winning Democratic Progressive Party’s incumbent Vice President Lai Ching-te. Watch a video I made at a rally here. There’s so much to see in Tainan, but naturally I am more into the traditional and spiritual culture and nature than entertainment or military history.

All day when my student took me site-seeing around the old city one day, we heard music and firecrackers. After returning to my little Japanese-style hotel, I heard the music again. Just around the corner was a shrine and I was able to witness the most marvelous religious procession. It was a Temple God’s Birthday, as far as I learned. Enjoy this video. I absolutely loved the music, dancing, costumes and rituals. Participating in life, rather than consuming it, pitches you out of the ordinary mundane world and into the infinite. I’m so glad these types of rituals still exist in the world.

These giant puppets are incredible to see in person.

During the Temple God’s Birthday Procession, some children did some dancing. I just loved these girls’ costumes. You can see their dancing in the YouTube video.

My adorable capsule SSS Life hotel in Tainan was located on an adorable alley with much to see, including the amazing religious procession. I felt right at home with the Japanese-style futon on the floor! Americans and their big houses and gas-guzzling cars have so much to lose- like their souls. Get rid of that crap and be free!

The AnPing Kaitai Tianhou Temple, also known as the AnPing Mazu Temple, in the old part of the city is as spectacular as temples get.

Ceiling of the AnPing Kaitai Tianhou Temple with lantern. My student said these ceilings serve a dual purpose as bat houses. Bats are considered sacred in Taiwan. Living in harmony with nature rather than against it is a good idea.

This wonderful costumed creature that reminded me of Hanuman greeted us at the door of the AnPing Kaitai Tianhou Temple. Watch a short video of him in action on my YouTube Channel. Be sure to subscribe!

Faithful worshipers purchase these small statues for luck and protection during the year.

The Confucius Temple of Tainan is not to be missed, especially if you love calligraphy as I do. This temple is the center of learning.

I just loved this ancient wooden tiger instrument. I saw a similar tiger at the procession.

It’s the Year of the Dragon for the Chinese New Year. Dragons are everywhere in Taiwan, as they are in Asia. In Eastern mythology, dragons are powerful positive benevolent symbols, unlike Western mythology’s negative malevolent associations with hoarding and greed. Dragon é¾™, pronounced long, was one of four Chinese words I learned while in Taiwan. (Or at least that I could remember!)

We visited the Tainan Grand Mazu Temple. The Sea Goddess Mazu 妈祖 is Taiwan’s most revered deity. She is the protector of fishermen, sailors and all whom love the ocean. There are many folktales about her. Tell one of her stories and feel her imagery come alive within you to connect you to the water.

These large stoves are at every temple. Worshipers write their prayers down then burn them, or burn something called Joss Paper, or God’s money, after praying. Limits, however, have been put on burning, since it causes pollution. For more info about Taiwanese prayer at temples, see this article.

At the Grand Mazu Temple, people who have prayed to Mazu to find their soulmate give thanks by bringing photos of themselves as a happy couple. I just loved all these little photos and Polaroids!

Another dragon at the Tainan Grand Mazu Temple.

We went to the AnPing Tree House 安平樹屋, which is an abandoned Tait & Co. Warehouse covered with trees and vines, a la Angkor Wat. Built around the end of the 19th Century at the beginning of the Japanese Colonial Period, it now also houses a nice museum, relating the Dutch colonial history of the area and island.

The Dutch landed at Tayouan and started to build the Orange City, which was then renamed to Fort Zeelandia. I found it fascinating, since my Dutch ancestors colonized Indonesia way back when as the Dutch East Indies. My father was born on Java. History is such a good story. You learn just why China really wants Taiwan, as it’s an important trade route for the entire Asian-Pacific region.

Chihkan Tower or Fort Providentia is a lovely sight to see at night. Dutch colonists built it in the 17th century.

The Chihkan Tower has a great view of the city and is a major attraction.

Tainan is famous for its food. Taiwan has the second largest vegetarian population in the world at 13%. I found numerous vegan and vegetarian places. A fabulous street market is in the old quarter. This street food was deep fried mochi rolled with a flavored topping. I chose assam, which is the word for tamarind. I did it in honor of my father who ate a lot of assam and used that word a lot when I was growing up. He also cooked a lot of Asian food.

This noodle bowl with fab tofu at Shui Wan Noodles Vegan Restaurant was made with local Tainan spices. Very authentic. Highly recommended.

Always something amazing to see in Tainan. Roaming around the streets is so much fun. You never know what you might see. The hotel had bicycles to use too.

Some interesting street art.

Taiwan was a Japanese colony, and the Japanese occupied the island during World War II. You see some familiar Japanese elements, such as a lot of kawaii, cute stuff, and the sewer covers. The National Museum of Taiwan Literature is housed in a former Japanese headquarters during the occupation. Literature lovers will enjoy its detailed exhibitions, including one about American influences on Taiwanese literature as well as Censorship and banned books during its long history. Deja Vu. Florida is doing the same thing right now!

Banned book exhibit at the National Museum of Taiwan Literature. Things don’t change much. Censorship always fails, I learned in my Journalism 101 class in college because technology is always one step ahead of the goons in power. Knowledge is power, so Write On!

This book was banned because it’s about a child prostitute. The protagonist at first laments but accepts her fate, but then she learns to resist and fight back against her fate. You can see why it was banned! Not for its sexual content, but authorities don’t want people getting ideas about how they can resist their oppression! Florida is no exception. Glad I escaped!

Great exhibition on Hemingway and other American authors who influenced Taiwanese Literature.

2 thoughts on “Glorious Tainan, Taiwan – in Pictures and Video

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.