Happy Ryu 竜 Year! Chinese New Year of the Dragon

Proudly written and photographed without Artificial Intelligence!

Happy Lunar New Year! The lunar calendar today marks the first day of the new year, based on the new moon in February. China and Taiwan celebrate it, but not Japan. Japan stopped using the lunar calendar in 1873 during the Meiji era and switched to the Gregorian solar calendar to match Western countries. Prime Minister Kishida did offer New Year’s Greetings.

This year is the Year of the Dragon, according to the Chinese Zodiac. The Chinese Zodiac represents the dragon with the character 辰. In Japanese, the word for dragon is Ryu 竜 , however, to signify the Chinese Year of the Dragon it’s 辰年 tatsu-doshi. Enjoy this collection of Dragon photographs I’ve taken over the years in Taiwan and Japan.

辰
The dragon is of Chinese origin but originally symbolic of the Sanskrit Nagas, or serpentine creatures of the water. This dragon I came upon near my house in Nara.
I just loved this powerful dragon at a temple in Tainan, Taiwan that was just around the corner from my hotel. A major religious procession passed by there.

The dragon is a powerful symbol in Asian culture and almost always are benevolent, and the bringers of wealth and good fortune. For more info about dragons in Asian culture, visit this wonderful site.

I loved Nagasaki for its unique culture that is heavily Chinese and also the Dutch history. Fabulous dragons everywhere.
Another Nagasaki dragon.
Dragons are everywhere at temizuyas, a water basin the entrance of temples and shrines to purify oneself before entering and praying.
Some artwork with haiku I made from a recycled book.
Another dragon temizuya in Nara, Japan.
I just love this dragon temizuya near my Nara house. It reminds me of a dragon toy I used to play with in the bath.
This dragon temizuya is at Kuramadera temple in Kyoto.
Dragon painting at Kenninji Temple, Kyoto.
Shipporyuji Temple Dragon, Osaka Prefecture.
Tenryuji Temple, Kyoto.
Nara, Japan.

This dragon near Dontonburi and our apartment in Osaka was a friendly sight.

Dragons are familiar sights above shrines and temples.
Dragons on temples in Taiwan get really fancy. I love it!

Taipei, Taiwan hotel reception.
辰
Dragon energy is with you everywhere you go in Taiwan.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.